Psalm 15 – “Keep an oath until it Hurts”


What an amazing psalm of character description!  I am amazed at the things David uses to describe the man of God; “He who does these things will never be shaken.” (Psalm 15:5)  There are people that I have shared things with that couldn’t keep them quiet.  There are things people have told ME that I have not kept quiet!  We simply struggle to keep our mouths shut, in general.  How often have I demonstrated the opposite of this character!  While I don’t believe David is talking about keeping secrets here, he mentions the deep, strong, integrity of a man, “who… keeps an oath until it hurts.”  I guess I have never really understood this Psalm as one where David asks a question and then proceeds to answer it himself.  “Who my dwell in your sanctuary?  Who may live in your holy hill?”  His answers indicate a deep understanding of man’s condition – fallen, and yet capable of choosing holiness.  And he who does these things may dwell in God’s sanctuary, and he may not be far from becoming like WHO God really is, himself.  Read it for yourself – it’s great.

LORD, who may dwell in your sanctuary? 
       Who may live on your holy hill?

 2 He whose walk is blameless
       and who does what is righteous,
       who speaks the truth from his heart

 3 and has no slander on his tongue,
       who does his neighbor no wrong
       and casts no slur on his fellowman
,

 4 who despises a vile man
       but honors those who fear the LORD,
       who keeps his oath
       even when it hurts
,

 5 who lends his money without usury
       and does not accept a bribe against the innocent.
       He who does these things
       will never be shaken
.

 Amazing!  If it is that easy… that “he who does these things will never be shaken,” you would think we would all do them.  The things David mentions are HARD to do.  But if we think in terms of Godliness and holiness, we can easily do those things.  Take a moment to think of a person in your life that you remember perceiving as absolutely a Godly man.  I’ll bet he kept his oath until he hurt, I’ll bet he didn’t talk badly about his neighbor, I’ll be he was honest, and his walk was blameless! 

Father and Lord, I am so ‘failed’ and have fallen short so often.  God help me to make the effort and follow through to change my character.  That I may be a man others clearly see as honest, honorable, someone they can confide in without their secrets being known, a man who is fair, a man who is kind to his family and most certainly a man of holiness to his home first.  I love you, Lord, and love what you do for our spirits when we allow your Spirit to empower our actions.  God, help me to get my selfish and carnal nature out of my mind.  That from my bones I will again be a man of integrity and deep godliness.  Thank you for providing for my family… you always do.  You have provided a means for me to provide and LOVE what I do.  In my business, help me to succeed with flying colors because I put YOUR principles of character into my soul.  Father, help me to become a pillar of holiness as your servant David described.  May I be the type of friend to others that your servant Jonathan was to David.

5 thoughts on “Psalm 15 – “Keep an oath until it Hurts”

  1. Great thoughts. Everyone has to have a Jonathan or two in their lives. We all have great brothers and sisters in Christ, but we each need a chosen few that will hold us accountable because we have grown so close to them that they know our secret weaknesses and struggles.

  2. Good post, Drew. Haven’t visited here in a while….your blog looks nice! Are we ever going to get together!?!? haha. Busy men we are. Let me know when you have a Tues. or Wed. free and I’ll come down for breakfast.
    Kevin

  3. Hey Kev-

    I am in work full-time these days, but could probably come up early on Tuesday night for some grub. I meet the Guyers at 8 or so for quartet rehearsal… so I’m sure I can get up earlier soon. Thanks for visiting. Charis mou adelphos!

Leave a Reply

