Psalm 19


What an amazing and humbling Psalm.  Anyone who has been to church more than 4 or 5 times in his life will probably be able to finish, “the heavens declare the glory of God…”  Even if you couldn’t do it word for word, I’ll bet you get it thought for thought.  This great prayer of David acknowledges the Lord’s sovereignty, the earth’s own “pouring forth speech” and displaying its own knowledge of God’s power. 

The psalm may be better known in some circles for its reference to the Law of God.  David refers to the Law as “perfect, reviving the soul,” and “trustworthy, making wise the simple.”  He refers to them as perfect, and more valuable than gold – much fine gold!  and even “sweeter than honey” in verse 10.

The thing that I may have NEVER focused on from this Psalm before, is David’s pouring forth his soul to God.  Maybe because I grew up with an understanding (right or wrong) that the Law of Moses was itself “crucified” with Christ, I didn’t value what David was saying.  Not only NO, but was I not even close!  The Law of Moses taught the children of Israel about God.  It told them of his wonderful acts, of his wonderful love, mercy, lovingkindness, and patience (Exodus 34:6-7).  David cherishes God’s Law because he has come to know his grace and peace that comes through submission to God. 

And then – after all of the “your law is what man needs” rhetoric, he begins to open up.  “by them your servant is warned…” and he continues with a plea that God “keep your servant from willful sins.”  He acknowledges that God is all powerful, and never does he ask for anything, except for a challenge to himself; “may the words of my mouth and the thoughts of my heart be pleasing in your sight, oh LORD, my Rock and my Redeemer.”  ** FATHER, may David’s prayer be mine, because I long for your warm embrace.  May I expel all carnality and empty self-servitude, and truly submit to your leading.  The cross was my sentence, but because of the stone rolled away I walk free.  LORD give me strength to serve you; you’re way smarter than I am and I haven’t a clue what you’ve gone through to bring us close to you.

Leave a Reply

