Do you KNOW him? Sometimes I’m not sure I do…


I read one of the most practically challenging passages of scripture I can remember reading tonight.  Oh I’ve been over it many times… but I’m not sure if I can remember hearing it like tonight.

I John 2
1My dear children, I write this to you so that you will not sin. But if anybody does sin, we have one who speaks to the Father in our defense—Jesus Christ, the Righteous One. 2He is the atoning sacrifice for our sins, and not only for ours but also for the sins of the whole world.

 3We know that we have come to know him if we obey his commands. 4The man who says, “I know him,” but does not do what he commands is a liar, and the truth is not in him. 5But if anyone obeys his word, God’s love is truly made complete in him. This is how we know we are in him: 6Whoever claims to live in him must walk as Jesus did.

There’s not much more that needs to be said in this post.  All I’ll try to say is this; we try to teach our children to “be like Jesus” and “make God happy.”  Lord, I need your help.  I want your love made complete in me, and to know you.  May I become more familiar with the steps the Master took, and the character and love he demonstrated daily. 

One thought on “Do you KNOW him? Sometimes I’m not sure I do…

Leave a Reply

