Wisdom in Proverbs 8


In Proverbs 8:12, something happens that I’m pretty sure I’ve never truly begun to grasp.  Wisdom, is referred to in the First Person.  “I, wisdom, dwell together with prudence, I possess knowledge and discression.”  He (wisdom, but presumably Solomon speaking) speaks of his attributes and how he is better than gold, better than choice silver, fame, or riches. 

One of the most amazing things to me about wisdom is beginning in verse 22, when he says that the Lord brought him forth as the first of his many creations.  That he brought WISDOM forth as the first of his many creations!  That Wisdom was along side with the Father as he watched all creation come to be, and that he has seen the innermost parts of God.  Read it for yourself below, and see if you are not impressed with the necessity to get to know “Wisdom” better; not as a person – as he is depicted here – but as a quality, which we know Solomon is actually saying.  It is the deepest of important qualities that we should learn to be of influence to others.  It is not more important than holiness, nor honesty, nor all that is wrapped up into holiness; but in terms of the influence we have on others, nothing will have a stronger impact, ESPECIALLY when it is combined with holiness, and others see that we truly are children of God. 

“The LORD brought me forth as the first of his works, before his deeds of old;

    23 I was formed long ages ago,
       at the very beginning, when the world came to be.

    24 When there were no oceans, I was given birth,
       when there were no springs abounding with water;

    25 before the mountains were settled in place,
       before the hills, I was given birth,

    26 before he made the world or its fields
       or any of the dust of the earth.

    27 I was there when he set the heavens in place,
       when he marked out the horizon on the face of the deep,

    28 when he established the clouds above
       and fixed securely the fountains of the deep,

    29 when he gave the sea its boundary
       so the waters would not overstep his command,
       and when he marked out the foundations of the earth.

    30 Then I was constantly [e] at his side.
       I was filled with delight day after day,
       rejoicing always in his presence,

    31 rejoicing in his whole world
       and delighting in humankind.

    32 “Now then, my children, listen to me;
       blessed are those who keep my ways.

    33 Listen to my instruction and be wise;
       do not disregard it.

    34 Blessed are those who listen to me,
       watching daily at my doors,
       waiting at my doorway.

    35 For those who find me find life
       and receive favor from the LORD.

    36 But those who fail to find me harm themselves;
       all who hate me love death.”

5 thoughts on “Wisdom in Proverbs 8

  1. im not a pastor or anything near, but i do think that wisdom here, refers to jesus
    since in genesis at the creation god was spoken as ‘we’, and that i know well ‘we’ refers to the holy trinity, i think it can be infered that wisdom is jesus.

    35 For those who find me find life

    doesnt this sound like ‘i am the way’ only through him can u find life

  2. George – thanks for writing. First… you don’t have to be a pastor or anything – I’m just glad you saw fit to comment and have a desire for spiritual things. Second, I don’t really have a problem saying “for those who find me find life” is referring to Jesus. But if you think about it, even God the Father – throughout the Old Testament – was full of references to wisdom, faith, “circumcision of the heart”, and other such references, all of which show that only in GOD is there true life.

    For wisdom to be “life” – as it seems to indicate in the passage, wisdom is clearly something that should bring us a life full of vitality, satisfaction, and peace. That what I really believe is being said, not simply secular wisdom, but wisdom in the Lord, and wisdom in his ways. So could the verse be talking about Jesus? in a way, clearly it is… Jesus is God’s wisdom, and brings us life and peace.

  3. I wrote on this specific topic a while back on my blog but from the point that I found it incredible to consider that Wisdom isn’t just a concept or ideology or whatever, but a created Being. Opens up all sorts of possibilities, but I hold to scripture alone where possible, and while I can’t figure it out, it makes for an interesting challenge to try to do so:

    http://tikkiro.wordpress.com/2007/03/03/wisdom-is-a-person/

    Blessings, TKR 🙂

  4. Something interesting I found is that in Proverbs, Wisdom is called “her” like in Proverbs 9:1 “Wisdom has built her house…” Then in proverbs 9:13 it talks about Folly and says “The woman Folly is loud; she is seductive and knows nothing.” (ESV) I think they are both spiritual beings. obviously Folly is not a good spirit but one that we (as humans) can be afflicted with while we are here on earth, but on the flip-side (as Christians) we can also be possessed by Wisdom.

Leave a Reply

