the Muppet Show, Albino Squirrels, and Jesus


Um – yeah – crazy title.  Anyway…  In our subdivision there is an Albino Squirrel.  I’ve seen him for weeks and he’s a pretty big squirrel, as squirrels go.  The kids always laugh when we see him running across someone’s yard, and I got to thinking recently about Jesus’ words about God’s love in the mountain message of Matt. 5-7:

Is not life more important than food, and the body more important than clothes? Look at the birds of the air; they do not sow or reap or store away in barns, and yet your heavenly Father feeds them. Are you not much more valuable than they? Who of you by worrying can add a single hour to his life?   (Matthew 6:25-28)

Granted, Jesus didn’t talk about Albino squirrels…  but I’ve been thinking a lot lately about the (too many) roles I have.  I’m tempted to worry about them a lot, and to fall short in many of them.  Elizabeth was gone last night and I had time to think a little bit.  I was looking at the kids lying in the bed last night, and thinking about them crawling all over me while we were watching the Mark Hamill episode of the Muppet Show, and how they love their Daddy.  In spite of his flaws.  In spite of his failures.  They want time; time cuddling, time horsing around, time laughing together, and time – doing nothing – together.  They are so innocent and such perfect creatures of God.  They were given to us to mold, to train, to teach in “the way he should go”.  Yet when they exhibit the same types of failure that one sees in himself – that hurts… badly.  So it was a time of reflection over the simple, really important things. 

So the way this ties into the Albino squirrel is this – the Father has blessed us with so many things; far greater than the birds or the flowers, or the albino squirrels.  He has given us jobs, food, children, spouses, cars, 2nd and 3rd cars – and how do we repay him?  With attention spans that are short and focused only on what WE want.  That squirrel sticks out like a sore thumb.  I’m not sure where they are in the food chain, but I’m pretty sure he’s not as safe as his cuddly brownish grey counterparts.  He was probably laughed at by the other squirrels when he was in school!  And yet – God provides for that crazy looking squirrel’s needs irrespective of his own shortcomings, failures, or genetic mutations.  How much MORE will God provide and take care of me?    As the greatest of all of God’s creations, couldn’t I begin measuring up to the standards laid down by his matchless blessings? 

I’m so thankful for what God has blessed me with.  In meditation and prayer last night; I was humbled to realize that I need his strength to do several things: 
1)  Trust in Him implicitly, with no stipulations
2)  Obey – and resist Satan’s crafty and subtle deviations
3)  Return to scripture and become the spiritual pillar for my family that I need to be, and have always wanted to become.

Father, help me in my weakness.  Bless any who might be reading this with the same focus, to allow you to be King of their lives, and for us to be your children who love their Father, like my little ones love me.  Bless the growth of the Spirit in my heart so that I may overcome and grow deeper into the unsurpassable riches of Christ.

Leave a Reply

