Majesty – the Grand Canyon


This past week I was blessed to be able to work in Arizona.  It was productive work, as I met with chapters around the state – 10 or 11 in all.  But being a Christian and an outdoorsy kind of guy, I couldn’t get to Arizona and not see the Grand Canyon.  For Drew’s pictures, click on the link below: 
http://picasaweb.google.com/drooellis/Arizona 

Of course the rest of the state is pretty as well – in its own way.  If you grew up with horses, knew the names to at least 5 John Wayne movies and had a flare for the exotic, the Canyon state is pretty amazing all the way around.

I arrived in Phoenix on Tuesday – they were on the end of a record-breaking heat streak, which ended Tuesday at 108 degrees.  It was hot, but not unbearable at all; as they say, it was a dry heat!  hardly any humidity at all.  Wednesday I was in Tucson, and the temps were around 85.  Thursday I drove up to the Grand Canyon.  And was demoralized by the fact that on the way, about 70 miles out, it began SNOWING!  Yes, snowing… it was 43 degrees.  By the time I got to the park, it was snowing huge flakes (the kind you don’t ever see in Kentucky, Tennessee or Alabama).  I went ahead and went into the park, and when I got to the canyon, it was a complete “white out”.  There was nothing but fog, clouds, and snow.

I prayed for the skies to clear… I mean you just don’t come this far and not see this magnificent manifestation of God’s wonder.  I ran a couple of miles, went to the lodge, and about the time I got to the car, I decided to go hang out on the trails.  I got to the edge, and could see nothing.  Every now and again, the wind would blow the fog up out of the way, and I got to see some space!  And then, almost in a span of 15 minutes, it all cleared up.  I got to see the canyon! 

In subsequent musings, I found the following Psalm that conveyed my amazement and wonder.  Praise God for his majesty, the fact that he humbles us, and the fact that he lets us experience his wonderful world.

Psalm 77:13 Your ways, O God, are holy.
       What god is so great as our God?

 14 You are the God who performs miracles;
       you display your power among the peoples.

 15 With your mighty arm you redeemed your people,
       the descendants of Jacob and Joseph.
       Selah

 16 The waters saw you, O God,
       the waters saw you and writhed;
       the very depths were convulsed.

 17 The clouds poured down water,
       the skies resounded with thunder;
       your arrows flashed back and forth.

 18 Your thunder was heard in the whirlwind,
       your lightning lit up the world;
       the earth trembled and quaked.

 19 Your path led through the sea,
       your way through the mighty waters,
       though your footprints were not seen.

 20 You led your people like a flock
       by the hand of Moses and Aaron.

Were the Psalm to continue, it might say something like this:  (Drew’s thoughts…) 
     You carve the earth with the breath of your nostrils,
      the canyons and rivers proclaim your greatness.  As a child
     draws in the dirt with a stem, the mountains are a mere
      reflection of seconds of Your glory. 

     The rocks cry out and the flowers display your great power;
      the gentleness of Your love and Your artistry and might.

     Your Spirit touches me as I am overwhelmed by the sight,
      and my breath leaves me as if the Spirit took me by the hand.

     The LORD is great.  He is mighty and good, and there
      is no god, no man, no creature as majestic as the LORD.

Blessed be the name of Jehovah!

Leave a Reply

